Doubtful on new employee

My possible new employee was here for another 1 1/2 hours today. His dad is okay with things, but his mom wants everything written down. [I told him to write down what he believes we have agreed to.] He wants $10 per hour, and he may be interested in working toward the other business later.

Frankly, this isn’t turning out to be as much fun as I wanted it to be. I want to help him out, but he is not making it easy. The longer he drags it out, the less interested I am becoming. And, if he insists on an hourly wage and the accountant tells me it isn’t worth getting set up for a part-time employee, I will probably just forget the whole thing. In an ideal world, he is not my idea of a “great” employee. And, the pain of paying him will not produce enough reward to justify the effort both time and financial to bring him on board.

*********************

The above is the contents of an email I sent my wife after my meeting. It is now three days after the meeting, and I have not heard back from him. My requests was simple….Since he is not certain what he would be agreeing to if we would work together, I told him to put a list together of what he thinks we have discussed. And, once he completes the list, we can work out the details. And, until that lists comes, I have no need to make any effort to proceed. And, the longer it takes, the less receptive I am to whatever he provides. And, I will just save my money for an employee who can grow my business and not stagnate it.

Leave a Reply

